Contextualizing Cultural Insights

I am immensely passionate about why people do what they do. I am also curious, and even a bit appalled, by the power of brands.

And just how do I make sense of my passion and curiosities? By contextualizing cultural insights.

Cultural geography helps me to make sense of how culture is expressed, individually and collectively, and how those expressions shape a sense of place. Some cultural geographers define themselves by the study of geography. I define myself – at least my work – through the lens of cultural studies using ethnography and semiotics. And so, cultural geography helps me to make sense of the trends that culturally and geographically shift and shape our world defining the sense of place within a global context.

This blog is the place I share my cultural insights. Join me as I track  consumption patterns – old and new, branded and unbranded, minuet and grand, individual and collective. I’ll launch my blog in May 2011 from Italy – though surely other countries will follow. If you want to know more about me or the work I do, I’m an email away at grow.cultural.geo@gmail.com.

Ciao!

Jean

2 Comments

Filed under brands, culture, insight

2 responses to “Contextualizing Cultural Insights

  1. This sounds great–looking forward to your insights as you live your adventure this summer!

  2. You’re off to a great start. I look forward to future posts. We partially thawed Wisconsites envy you.

Leave a Reply

